Bhabanipur Assembly Elections 2016

One of the greatest upsets in the 2014 Lok Sabha in West Bengal occurred when the BJP candidate of Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary seat and now Tripura governor, Tathagata Roy, led form this assembly segment which in 2011 had elected Mamata Banerjee who had polled 77.74 percent at that time. That was possible because of the Modi wave. However, the wave is now nowhere to be seen. Added to this the BJP does not have a robust organizational strength which is important in winning elections in West Bengal.

Bhabanipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mamata Banerjee AITC Won
Deepa Dasmunshi INC 40219
Chandra Kumar Bose BJP 26299
Nirmal Kanti Samaddar BSP 669
Pinky Tiwari IND 604
Shobha Singh SUCI(C) 495
Saugata Gupta IND 409
Narayan Das IND 262
Indraneel Mitra IND 184
Kiran Kaur IND 175
Malay Guha Roy IND 158

Mamata Banerjee, who did not contest the 2011 general assembly election which brought TMC to power, is the sitting MLA of Bhabanipur which she won in a bye-election by trouncing Nandini Mukherjee of CPM by a massive margin of 54213 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while Mamata Banerjee polled 73,635 votes, Nandini Mukherjee, who later also unsuccessfully contested the Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary seat in 2014, received 19,422 votes.

The bye-election was necessitated following the resignation of then sitting TMC Subrata Bakshi to pave the way for Mamata Banerjee to contest the election because the latter had to be a member of the legislative assembly of the state within the stipulated period of six months of her taking oath as Chief Minister.

Subrata Bakshi had won the seat in 2011 by defeating CPM member Narayan Jain by 49936 votes.

Located in Kolkata, Bhabanipur assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Nos. 63, 70- 74, 77 and 82 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

The urban assembly constituency of Bhabanipur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Dakshin.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Bhabanipur assembly constituency has a total electorate of 2, 12,821 voters out of which 1,20,537 are male voters and 92,284 are females.

Bhabanipur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found