Behala Paschim Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress witnessed a significant reduction of 41,892 votes from what it got in 2011 in the Behala Paschim assembly constituency, the party still enjoys the edge. This is because the party had won the seat in 2011 by a massive margin of 59021 votes.

Behala Paschim Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Partha Chatterjee AITC Won
Kaustav Chatterjee CPM 93218
Harikrishna Dutta BJP 17962
Mrityunjoy Roy SUCI(C) 1494
Pushpa Dhali BSP 1040
Tapan Debnath IND 920
Vijay Kumar Singh IND 744
Bipul Kumar Das IND 450

Behala Paschim is presently held by Partha Chatterjee who emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Anupam Debsarkar by a huge margin of 59021 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 127870 votes were polled by Partha Chatterjee, a minister in the Mamata government, the CPM nominee received 68849 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Amalendu Roychowdhury who got 4248 votes and lost his deposit. The remaining contestant Jayanta Datta also lost his deposit.

Partha Chatterjee was also elected in 2001 and 2006 from the seat.

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Behala Paschim assembly constituency is constituted by areas covered by Wards Nos 118, 119, and 125 - 132 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

Behala Paschim constituency, which is inhabited by urban voters, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kolkata Dakshin parliamentary constituency. Kasba, Behala Purba, Kolkata Port, Bhabanipur, Rashbehari and Ballygunge are the other six assembly seats within the Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency. Behala Paschim earlier formed part of the Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Behala Paschim constituency has a total electorate of 2, 60,955 voters, out of which 1, 31,187 are males and 1, 29,768 are females.

Behala Paschim Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found