Basirhat Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

Though BJP had done reasonably well in the Basirhat Uttar assembly constituency in the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 riding on the Modi wave, the wave is now nowhere to be seen. The CPM which had won the seat in 2011, despite the wave of change sweeping across West Bengal is trying hard to compete with BJP to be the runner-up.

Basirhat Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rafikul Islam Mondal CPM Won
A.T.M. Abdullah (Rony) AITC 97336
Tarafan Gazi BJP 13072
Abul Kasem Dhali BSP 3006

ATM Abdullah is the sitting TMC MLA of Basirhat North Assembly seat which he won in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Subid Ali Gazi of the CPM by 30851 votes. The by-poll has been necessitated by the death of sitting CPM legislator Mustafa Bin Quassem who committed suicide in 2011 just months after winning the seat.

Mustafa Bin Quassem had earlier represented the Swarupnagar seat for successive four terms from 1991. He was also elected to the West Bengal Assembly in 1977 from Baduria and was a Rajya Sabha MP from 1984 to 1990.

Carved out of the erstwhile Basirhat assembly constituency, Basirhat Uttar came into being on the recommendations of delimitation commission in 2008. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Basirhat- 2 block as well as Bhebia, Amlani, Murarisha and Makhal Gachha gram panchayats of Hasnabad block.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Basirhat Uttar is one of the seven assembly segments in the Basirhat parliamentary constituency.

In the last assembly election to Basirhat Uttar in 2011, 213441 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 110390 were males and 103051 were female voters.

Basirhat Uttar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found