Basirhat Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

The coming 2016 assembly election to Basirhat South Assembly will witness a keen contest between Trinamool Congress and the BJP which managed to win the seat in a bye-election in 2014. This was first time that BJP had won an assembly seat in west Bengal without the support of any major party. Though the victory margin for the BJP was reduced by 28,000 votes in just three months when the party had led by over 30,000 votes in the LokSabha elections.

Basirhat Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dipendu Biswas (Mithu) AITC Won
Samik Bhattacharya BJP 64027
Amit Majumdar INC 57035
Debabrata Biswas (Babu) CPI(ML)(L) 1462
Dilip Bairagi BSP 1133
Dilip Bairagi BSP 1133
Ajay Kumar Bain SUCI(C) 1081
Barun Das PDS 964
Tasirul Mondal RPI(A) 903

In the 2015 election to Municipalities of Basirhat and Taki which are parts of the Basirhat South Assembly, the TMC had won the municipal bodies. The CPM which had won the seat in 2011 despite the wave of change in West Bengal has lost ground to the BJP and the TMC in the constituency.

Samik Bhattacharya is the sitting BJP MLA of Basirhat South Assembly which he won in 2014 by defeating his nearest rival Dipendu Biswas of the TMC by 1586 votes. In that election, Samik Bhattacharya, who had unsuccessfully contested the Basirhat Lok Sabha seat in 2014, polled 71,002 votes, Dipendu Biswas, a former footballer, received 69,416 votes and was followed by CPM’s Mrinal Chakraborty who got 24,884 votes. The by-poll has been necessitated by the death of sitting CPM legislator Niranjan Mukherjee who was elected in 2011.

Carved out of the erstwhile Basirhat constituency, Basirhat South came into being on the recommendations of delimitation commission in 2008. The constituency is home to and Basirhat and Taki municipalities, in addition to the block of Basirhat.

37 per cent of the voters in Basirhat South belong to the minority community.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Basirhat South is one of the seven assembly segments in the Basirhat parliamentary constituency.

In the last assembly election to Basirhat South in 2011, 213441 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 110390 were males and 103051 were female voters.

Basirhat Dakshin Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found