Barrackpore Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on a firm footing in Barrackpore assembly constituency. This is attested by the fact the party led from the assembly constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Added to this, both the municipalities that form part of the constituency were won by the TMC in 2015. In the coming assembly elections the opposition parties would be trying to increase their vote shares.

Barrackpore Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Silbhadra Datta AITC Won
Debasish Bhowmick CPM 50790
Amitava Roy BJP 29227
Tapas Sarkar BSP 1384
Shyam Sundar Shaw (Lali) CPI(ML)R 1249
Brahmdeo Gupta IND 952

TMC’s Silbhadra Dutta is the sitting legislator of Barrackpore which was won by him in 2011 by defeating Dr. Madhusudan Samanta of the Communist Party of India (Marxists) by a huge margin of 36123 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election while 79,515 votes were polled by Silbhadra Dutta, the CPM nominee secured just 43,392 votes. Shambhu Nath Gupta, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was thrown to the third place with just 5,040 votes.

Barrackpore assembly constituency, which came into being in 2011 in place of erstwhile Titagarh, is located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal. Barrackpore assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the municipalities of municipalities of Titagarh and Barrackpore

Barrackpore is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of the same name. Barrackpore Lok Sabha is currently represented by TMC MP and former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi. Other six assembly segments in the Barrackpore Lok Sabha seat are Bijpur, Bhatpara, Noapara, Jagatdal, Naihati and Amdanga.

In the 2011 assembly election to Barrackpore, the constituency had an electorate of 170241. Of them, 93534 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 76707.

Barrackpore Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found