Barjora Assembly Elections 2016

Barjora has been electing the CPIM member since 1977 barring the last assembly election. A bastion of the Left, this assembly constituency had elected TMC candidate surprising the Left sympathizers. The coming election to the seat will witness a keen contest between TMC and CPIM. The BJP has also emerged as a force to reckon with though not in a position to win the seat. The party which will have Congress as its alliance partner will have an edge here.

Barjora Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sujit Chakraborty CPM Won
Soham Chakraborty AITC 86257
Agasthi Sujit BJP 15991
Sudarshan Adhikari SUCI(C) 2352
Raghunath Roy IND 2326
Indrani Sardar BMP 2050

Barjora assembly seat is currently held by the TMC MLA Asutosh Mukherjee who won it by defeating his nearest CPIM rival and then sitting legislator Susmita Biswas by 8491 votes in 2011. While 84457 votes were received by Asutosh Mukherjee, Susmita Biswas got 75966 votes and was remotely followed by BJP’s Sanjoy Pal who received 6,245 votes.

Susmita Biswas had won the Barjora seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006. While CPM’s Jayasree Mitra was elected in 1987 and 1991, Lal Behari Bhattcharya won in 1982.

Barjora is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. The constituency is constituted by areas covered by Barjora block and Gangajalghati, Bhaktabandh, Gobindadham, Nityanandapur, Kapista and Piraboni gram panchayats of Gangajalghati block.

One of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Bishnupur Lok Sabha seat, Barjora had a total electorate of 203655 in 2011. Of them, 106238 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 97417.

Barjora Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found