Baranagar Assembly Elections 2016

The forthcoming assembly election to Baranagar in 2016 is all set to witness a direct contest between Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Revolutionary Socialist Party, a constituent of Left Front. BJP has also become a competitive force in the constituency. However, TMC is in an advantageous position. This is bolstered by its victory in the municipal election to the Baranagar Municipality which is a part of the Baranagar assembly constituency.

Baranagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Tapas Roy AITC Won
Sukumar Ghosh RSP 60431
Sunil Dey BJP 14172
Shyamal IND 901
Prabir Chatterjee RAJSP 704

Baranagar assembly seat is currently held by Tapas Roy who wrested the seat from RSP in 2011 by defeating its candidate Sukumar Ghosh by a margin of 36828 votes. While 89883 votes were received by Tapas Roy, the RSP nominee got 53,055 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Bijoy Sankar Agarwal who received 3,581 votes.

Barring 2011, Baranagar had been electing candidates of left parties since 1951. While Matish Ray represented the seat from 1977 to 1996, Amar Choudhury won the seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Baranagar municipality is covered by the Baranagar assembly constituency which also contains the ward nos.17 to 20 of Kamarhati municipality.

One of the assembly constituencies located in the North-24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Baranagar is one of the seven assembly segments in the Dum Dum parliamentary constituency. Khardaha, Dum Dum Uttar, Panihati, Kamarhati, Dum Dum, Rajarhat Gopalpur are the other six assembly constituencies.

Of a total number of 186723 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Baranagar, there were 95807 males and 90916 females.

Baranagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found