Barabani Assembly Elections 2016

Though the BJP had led from Barabani assembly segment in the 2014 parliamentary elections, the party lacks the organization prowess of the TMC. In the upcoming assembly polls, the constituency will witness triangular contest among TMC, BJP and the Left front which was once a dominant force here. If the Congress does not ally itself with either TMC or the Left Front and enters the fray, it may dent the fortunes of the two.

Barabani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bidhan Upadhyay AITC Won
Shipra Mukherjee CPM 53415
Amal Roy BJP 25224
Krishnapada Nath Goswami SHS 3480
Pranabesh Dutta SUCI(C) 2032

Bidhan Upadhyay is the sitting Trinamool Congress MLA of Barabani assembly seat which he wrested from the CPIM by defeating its candidate Abhas Raychaudhuri by 20577 votes in 2011. Earlier the seat was won by Manik Upadhyay, father of Bidhan Upadhyay, four times. In 2006 Manik Upadhyay had lost to Dilip Sarkar of the CPM. Dilip Sarkar, who was denied ticket in 2011, was murdered in 2013.

Barabani is composed of the blocks of Barabani and Salanpur. It is one of the seven assembly segments under the Asansol parliamentary constituency in West Bengal. Barabani is one of the twenty-five assembly constituencies spread across in the Bardhamman district of West Bengal. 13 of them went in favour of the Trinamool Congress in the last general assembly polls in 2011. The industrial towns of Rupnarainpur and Chittaranjan are located in the Barabani constituency which is home to a large number of Hindi speaking voters.

There were 185113 electors in Barabani assembly constituency in 2011 polls. Out of them 98373 were males and 86740 were female voters.

BarabaniAssembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found