Bankura Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress is losing its grip among the voters of Bankura assembly constituency since its win in 2011, the party still enjoys the clear edge in the coming 2016 assembly elections. The party won the bye-poll to the seat in 2012 by a reduced margin compared to the 2011 elections. While the party polled 53.93 per cent votes in 2011, it managed to secure 49.66 per cent in the bye-poll. The coming assembly election to Bankura will be mainly between TMC and CPM.

Bankura Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Daripa Shampa INC Won
Minati Misra AITC 82457
Subhas Kumar Sarkar BJP 20571
Swapan Nag SUCI(C) 2138
Lal Mohan Malla BSP 1999
Rabindra Hansda BMP 1399

Minati Mishra is the sitting TMC MLA of Bankura which she won in 2012 in a bye-poll to the seat by defeating her nearest CPM rival Nilanjan Dasgupta by 15,138 votes. The bye-election was necessitated due to the death of then sitting TMC MLA Kashinath Mishra. Kashinath Mishra, husband of Minati Mishra, had emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating Pratip Mukherjee of CPM by a margin of 29090 votes.

Earlier Kashi Nath Misra had been elected from Bankura in 1971, 1972, 1982, 2001 and 2011.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in West Bengal, Bankura is formed by the areas covered by Bankura municipality; Bankura-1 block as well as Mankanali, Janbedia and Purandarpur gram panchayats of Bankura-2 block.

Bankura is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of the same name. Raghunathpur, Saltora, Chhatna, Ranibandh, Raipur and Taldangra are the other six other assembly constituencies.

In the 2011 assembly election to Bankura, a total number of 215037 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 111668 were male voters and the rest were females whose number stood at 103369.

Bankura Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found