Bandwan Assembly Elections 2016

Despite the wave of change in 2011, CPM managed to win the Bandwan assembly seat. It was the only one seat the party had won in the Purulia district. However, since its ascent to power, the Trinamool Congress is desperately truing to snatch the seat. But it would be a difficult task for the TMC due to the lack of development in the area.

Bandwan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rajib Lochan Saren AITC Won
Besra Susanta CPM 84016
Labsen Baskey BJP 14371
Kamalakanta Baskey JMM 5201
Bharat Singh IND 1749
Manohar Tudu AMB 1092
Jalim Chandra Saren AJSU Party 970
Prakash Mandi IND 854
Sukumar Tudu SUCI(C) 785
Sadhuram Saren ABJP 769

Currently Bandwan is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by CPM’s Susanta Besra by defeating his nearest Congress rival by a margin of 22020 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011. In that election, while Susanta Besra polled 87183 votes, the Congress nominee secured 65,163 votes and was distantly followed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Chunaram Hembram who got 10,769 votes. BJP’s Manika Murmu found himself in the also-ran category by securing just 6,912 votes.

CPM candidates have been winning the Bandwan assembly seat since 1977.

Bandwan is one of the nine assembly constituencies located in the Purulia district of West Bengal. The Maoist hit constituency is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Barabazar, Bandwan and Manbazar.

Bandwan, which shares its border with Bankura and West Midnapore districts of West Bengal, is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes and one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Jhargram.

223789 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Bandwan. Of them, 114164 were male voters and 109625 were women.

Bandwan Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found