Ballygunge Assembly Elections 2016

If we take into account the results of the 2014 parliamentary polls, BJP has emerged as Trinamool Congress’s main political rival relegating the CPIM to the third place in the Ballygunge assembly constituency. However, BJP’s performance in the consequent civic elections in Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) shows that the party lacks organization and the gains made by it 2014 was due to the Modi wave. In all possibility, there will be a triangular contest among Trinamool, BJP and CPM. Though Trinamool suffered a staggering drop of 37,475 votes from what it got in 2011, the party seems to be better placed than the rest.

Ballygunge Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Subrata Mukherjee AITC Won
Krishna Debnath INC 54858
Jiban Kumar Sen BJP 20622
Rajendra Ram Das BSP 1538
Wajul Haque Khan IUML 1218
Sweta Paul IND 998
Amitava Dutta IND 766
Ashis Sarkar IND 425

Ballygunge is currently held by Subrata Mukherjee who had won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPIM rival Dr. Fuad Halim by a massive margin of 41185. While Subrata Mukherjee, currently a minster in the Mamata government, received 88194 votes, Fuad Halim, son of former assembly Speaker Hashim Abdul Halim, got 47009 votes. BJP’s Shatorupa was placed third with just 5187 votes.

Ballygunge has been earlier represented by CPM heavyweight Rabin Deb from 1991 to 1996. Javed Khan, a minister in the Trinamool government, was elected from the seat in 2006. Currently, he is the sitting TMC MLA from Kasba.

Ballygunge is part of the KMC and one of the seven assembly segments in the Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency.

Ballygunge, which is formed by Wards 60, 61, 64, 65, 68, 69 and 85 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation. Ballygunge has an electorate of 219835, out of whom 123070 are male and 96765 are female voters.

Ballygunge Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found