Balarampur Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress which has consolidated its position after the party wrested the Balarampur seat from the CPM in 2011, aims to do well in the coming 2016 assembly elections. There will be bipolar contest between TMC and CPM. If Congress enters into an alliance with the Left Front, CPM may find itself in a better position.

Balarampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shantiram Mahato AITC Won
Jagadish Mahato INC 71882
Subhas Das BJP 8940
Bimal Kanta Mahanty IND 2870
Bharati Mudi BSP 1860
Anil Chandra Mandi JDP 1449
Monbodh Mahato IND 930
Lal Mohan Mahato AJSU Party 894
Dipak Kumar SUCI(C) 805

Balarampur is currently represented in the Legislative Assembly of West Bengal by TMC whose candidate Shantiram Mahato won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Manindra Gope by a margin of 10528 votes.

In that election to the seat, while Shantiram Mahato, now a minister in the Mamata government, polled 65244 votes, the CPM nominee received 54716 and was followed by rebel Congress candidate Uttam Banerjee who managed to secure 9,529 votes. Uttam Banerjee entered the fray as an independent because under the seat sharing alliance, the constituency was allocated to the TMC.

All the other seven contestants forfeited their deposits.

Earlier CPM legislators represented the Balarampur seat from 1977 to 2011.

Tribal dominated Balarampur became an open seat before 2011. Before that it was reserved for the scheduled tribes.

Balarampur block as well as Dimdiha, Chakaltore, Durku, Lagda, Garafusra and Sonaijuri gram panchayats of Purulia-1 block are covered by the Balarampur assembly constituency, which also contains Chatu Hansa, Puara and Hensla gram panchayats of Arsa block.

Located in the Purulia district of West Bengal, the Maoist hit assembly constituency of Balarampur had a total electorate of 175112 in 2011. Out of these electors, while 92178 were male voters, women voters numbered at 82934.

Balarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found