Balagarh Assembly Elections 2016

Once a stronghold of the CPM, Balagarh has now turned a turf of the Trinamool Congress which wrested the seat inn 2011 from the former which had been winning it since 1977. With its government at power, TMC has expanded its base in the constituency. The seat will witness a bipolar contest between TMC and CPM in the upcoming 2016 assembly elections in West Bengal.

Amta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ashim Kumar Majhi AITC Won
Panchu Gopal Mondal CPM 78635
Subash Chandra Halder BJP 20757
Subrata Mondal PDS 2226
Gautam Mondal CPI(ML)(L) 1718

Ashim Maji is the sitting TMC MLA of Balagarh which he wrested from the CPM by defeating its candidate and sitting MLA Bhuban Pramink by a margin of 21583 votes in 2011. In that election, Ashim Maji polled 96,254 votes whereas Bhuban Pramink received 74,671 votes and was followed by BJP’s Banshi Raut who secured 6,223 votes.

Earlier Bhuban Pramink was elected from the Balagarh seat in a by-election held in 2008. The bye-poll was necessitated due to the death of then sitting CPM legislator Dibakanta Routh who had won in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Abimnash Pramanik of the CPM was the winner of the seat in 1996, 1991, 1996 and 2001.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency, Balagarh is formed by the areas covered by Balagarh block as well as Chandrahati I, Digsui, Chandrahati II and Mogra I gram panchayats of Chinsurah-Mogra block.

Located in the 18 assembly seat- Hooghly district of West Bengal, Balagarh had had an electorate of 207853 in 2011. Out of total electors 108677 were male voters and 99176 were female voters.

Balagarh Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found