Baisnabnagar Assembly Elections 2016

Baisnabnagar is currently represented in the legislative assembly by the Congress MLA Ishaq Khan Chaudhury who was elected in 2011. In that election, he trounced his nearest CPIM rival Biswanath Ghosh by 5023 votes in a bipolar contest.

Baisnabnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Swadhin Kumar Sarkar BJP Won
Azizul Haque INC 65688
Asit Bose AITC 40262
Dhaneshyam Das SHS 1528
Nikhil Chandra Mondal BSP 1525
Suresh Ch. Sarkar IND 1301
Md. Ebrahim Sk. CPI(ML)(L) 713

Whereas Ishaq Khan Chowdhury, son of Maldah Dakshin MP Abu Hashem Khan Chowdhury, polled 62589 votes, Biswanath Ghosh, then incumbent CPM MLA from erstwhile Kaliachak, received 57566 votes and was followed by Swadhin Kumar Sarkar of the BJP with 20,483 votes. Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress at that time.

Baisnabnagar, which came into existence before 2011 general assembly polls following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly segments under the Maldaha Dakshin (South)parliamentary constituency which had elected Abu Hasem Khan Chaudhury of the Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Located in the Malda district of West Bengal, Baisnabnagar is composed of Kaliachak-3 block and had had an electorate of 172528 in 2011 assembly election. Of them, 89158 were male voters and 83370 were females.

Baisnabnagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found