Baharampur Assembly Elections 2016

The forthcoming assembly election to Baharampur in 2016 is all set to witness a direct contest between Congress and RSP (Revolutionary Socialist Party). The Left from gains to stand if the Congress and the TMC decide to go to the polls separately which was not the case in 2011.

Baharampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manoj Chakraborty INC Won
Dr. Sujata Banerjee AITC 35489
Mala Bhattacharya BJP 18805
Kousik Chatterjee SUCI(C) 1727
Sujit Kumar Das IND 881

Baharampur is currently held by the sitting Congress MLA Manoj Chakraborty who had emerged victorious from the seat for the second consecutive term in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Tarit Brahmachari of RSP by a huge margin of 43313 votes. RSP is one of the constituents of the Left Front, which held the reigns of power in the state for 34 years before it was inflicted a crushing defeat in 2011.

Earlier Manoj Chakraborty, a former minister in the Mamata government, had won the seat in 2006 when he entered as an independent candidate, then backed by Murshidabad strongman and Baharampur Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury against the official Congress candidate and then sitting MLA Maya Rani Paul.

RSPís Debabrata Bandopadhyay had claimed the seat three times in a row from 1977. One of the seven assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name in West Bengal, Baharampur centres on Naoda block and four gram panchayats of Beldanga -1 block.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district, Baharampur was home to a total electorate of 206158. Of them, 104758 were male votes and 101400 females.

Baharampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found