Baghmundi Assembly Elections 2016

A surging Trinamool Congress is making the CPM going tough in Baghmundi assembly constituency. Though Congress is the present holder of the seat, it does not stand a chance as it is not in alliance with the TMC now. TMC has now emerged as the main contestant for the coming 2016 assembly elections. The BJP would hope to hold on to the votes it secured in 2014 parliamentary polls.

Baghmundi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nepal Mahata INC Won
Samir Mahato AITC 80120
Jyotirmay Singh Mahato BJP 11219
Pashupati Mahato AMB 2047
Subal Prasad AJSU Party 1863
Rabindra Nath Sin Mura IND 1102
Mrityunjoy Singh Babu SUCI(C) 1016

Nepal Mahato is the sitting Congress MLA of Baghmundi which he won by defeating Forward Bloc nominee Mangal Mahato by a convincing margin of 17644 votes in the last assembly polls in 2011. In that election, Nepal Mahato polled 77458 votes, 59814 votes were received by the Forward Bloc member who was followed by All Jharkhand Students Union’s Rakesh Mahato who got 10,797 votes.

Shankar Kumar, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was relegated to the sixth place with only 1,625 votes.

Baghmundi is one of the nine assembly constituencies located in the Purulia district of West Bengal. Jhalda municipality is covered by the Baghmundi assembly constituency, which also contains the blocks of Jhalda-1 and Baghmundi as well as Sirkabad and Hetgugui gram panchayats of Arsha block.

Maoist-hit Baghmundi is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Purulia parliamentary constituency. Balarampur, Joypur, Purulia, Manbazar, Kashipur and Para are other six assembly constituencies.

Baghmundi was disbanded and came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission. In the 2011 assembly election to the constituency, there was a total electorate of 192018. Of them, 99277 were males and 92741 were female voters.

Baghmundi Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found