Ashoknagar Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress has consolidated its position in the Ashoknagar assembly constituency and is comfortably placed. Apart from taking a lead from the assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, TMC had also won the 2015 election to Municipality of Ashoknagar which is a part of the constituency. It is pertinent to note that BJP entered the West Bengal assembly first time by winging the Ashoknagar assembly seat in 1999.

Ashoknagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dhiman Roy AITC Won
Satyasebi Kar CPM 75143
Tarakeswar Hawlader BSP 16429
Tanuja Chakraborty BJP 1582
Parimal Baishnab IND 1339
Ajit Kumar Sarkar RPI(A) 1262
Jayashri Das (Basak) CPI(ML)(L) 586

Ashoknagar assembly constituency is currently represented by TMC’s Dhiman Roy who won the seat in 2011 by defeating sitting CPM MLA Satyasebi Kar by a margin of 27692 votes. In that election while votes were polled by Dhiman Roy, Satyasebi Kar received votes and was followed by BJP’s Gopal Nandi who secured 4,168 votes.

Earlier Badal Bhattacharya of BJP had emerged victorious from Ashoknagar in a bye-poll in 1999. The seat was represented by CPM from 1977 to 1999. While Nani Kar won in 1977, 1982, 1987 and 1991, Nirode Roy Choudhury claimed the seat in 1996.

Located the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Ashoknagar is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Barasat parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments in the Barasat parliamentary constituency are Habra, Rajarhat New Town, Bidhannagar, Madhyamgram, Barasat and Deganga.

Ashoknagar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Ashoknagar Kalyangarh municipality, and Habra- 2 block.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Ashoknagar, there was a total electorate of 193115. Out of the total electors, 99144 were males and 93971 were females.

Ashoknagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found