Vellore Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Vellore legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate B. Senguttuvan a good lead of around 59393 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily Leather Industries, Automobile Industries, Engineering & Manufacturing Industries, Precision Tool Industries, Explosive Industries and Service Sector Industries labourers are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Vellore Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Warning: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/thisismy/public_html/consti.php on line 8

Warning: mysql_select_db() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /home/thisismy/public_html/consti.php on line 9

Warning: mysql_query(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/thisismy/public_html/consti.php on line 11

Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /home/thisismy/public_html/consti.php on line 11

Warning: mysql_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/thisismy/public_html/consti.php on line 12
Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

AIADMK won this constituency in the 2011 assembly elections deafeating the INC party under the leadership of Vijay.Dr.V.S. with 71522 votes. This constituency has been won four times by Gnanasekaran.C twice under the party TMC and twice under INC. Devaraj, V.M has also won the constituency consecutively three times, from 1980 to 1989 assembly elections under the party DMK. DMK has won totally fives here three times under the leadership of Devaraj, V.M and two times Ma. Pa. Sarathy and M. P. Sarathi. The ADK has won this constituency once in the 1977 assembly elections.

This constituency is the administrative headquarters of Vellore district. This city is located on the banks of Palar River in north eastern part of Tamil Nadu. Christian medical College and Hospital and VIT University are located here. Vellore is top exporter of finished leather goods.

Vellore Assembly Election Videos 2016