Tambaram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Tambaram legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC and LSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate K. N. Ramachandran a good lead of around 102646 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily all class people and IT, Industries workers are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Tambaram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
S R Raja DMK Won
Rajendran C AIADMK 87390
M Chezhiyan DMDK 14559
Vedasubramaniam A BJP 10327
R Suresh PMK 7631
Naganathan B Naam Tamilar Katchi 5237
S Mohamad Bilal SDPI 1135
X Tamil Selvan IND 434
K Dhananchezhiyan IND 301
A Raja IND 280
Arul Santha Michel IND 267
P Arumugam KMDK 240
T Thangavel IND 146
S Ilanchezhian IND 117
S Rajendran IND 93
K Gopinath IND 81
R Suresh IND 78
P Raja IND 74
G Sarangabani IND 65
S Sivaraman IND 58

Electoral History and Background

T. K. M. Chinneyah of AIADMK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011. In the previous assembly elections the DMK party was victorious. DMK has won totally five times in this constituency including the previous time. Indian National Congress has only won this constituency once in assembly elections from 1977. The ADK has won this constituency twice.

Tambaram is a suburb in Chennai; it is a taluk in Kanchipuram district. Tambaram is the second largest assembly constituency in Chennai after Villivakam.

Tambaram Assembly Election Videos 2016