Piravom Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While Anoop Jacob of Kerala Congress (Jacob), the sitting MLA of Piravom, is the United Democratic Front (UDF) nominee to contest the Piravom assembly seat in 2016 assembly polls, M J Jacob of the CPI(M) is facing the voters on behalf of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

Piravom Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
M.J. Jacob CPM 67575
C.P. Sathyan BDJS 17503
Gireesh Peoples Green Party 485
K.O. Sudheer SUCI(C) 342
Rajan IND 233

Electoral History and Background

Anoop Jacob of the Kerala Congress (Jacob) is the sitting MLA of Piravom assembly seat which he won in a bye-poll in 2012 by defeating his nearest rival M J Jacob of the CPI (M) by a margin of 12,070 votes. The bye-poll was necessitated due to the death of the then sitting MLA and father of Anoop Jacob, T M Jacob. In the bye-election while Anoop Jacob polled 82,756 votes, the LDF candidate received 70,686 votes and was followed by BJP’s who secured 3241 votes.

In 2011, T M Jacob, a former minister, won the seat by defeating M J Jacob by a margin of just 157 votes.

Piravom assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the gram panchayts of Piravom, Amballur, Koothattukulam, Edaykattuvayal, Mulanthuruthy, Chottanikara, Thiruvankulam, Maneed, Elanji, Pambakuda, Thirumaradi and Ramamangalam.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Piravom is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kottayam. Pala, Kottayam, Ettumanoor, Puthuppally, Kaduthuruthy and Vaikom are the other six assembly constituencies within the Kottayam parliamentary constituency.

As is the case with most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, in the Piravom assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, there are 197100 registered voters in Piravom, among them 101571 are women and 95529 are men.

Piravom Assembly Election Videos 2016