Kottarakkara Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, election, UDF candidate of Mavelikara parliamentary constituency Kodikunnil Suresh of the Congress had secured a lead of 4,645 votes over his nearest LDF rival Chengara Surendran of the CPI in the Kottarakkara Assembly segment. However, in 2015 local body elections, Kottarakkara municipality and all the seven panchayats were won by the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

CPIM has once again nominated its sitting MLA Aisha Potty to contest the Kottarakkara assembly seat in 2016 elections. Savin Sathyan of the Congress is in the fray on behalf of the United Democratic Front (UDF). The BJP has certain pockets of influence in the constituency.

Kottarakkara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. P.Aisha Potty CPM Won
Adv.Savin Sathyan INC 40811
Rajeswary Rajendran BJP 24062
Madhu.B IND 491
R.Sukumaran BSP 386
Veliyam Shaji SHS 325
Hariprasad IND 173
Ajayakumar Thankappan IND 80

Electoral History and Background

P. Aisha Potty of the CPIM is the sitting MLA of Kottarakkara which she won second time in a row in 2011 by trouncing his nearest KC(M) rival N.N.Murali by a margin of 20592votes. While 74069 votes were polled by P. Aisha Potty, N.N.Murali secured 53477 votes. Vayakkal Madhu of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 6370 votes.

In 2006 Aisha Potty had defeated R Balakrishna Pillai of Kerala Congress who had been representing the seat since 1977. Pillai was also elected in 1965. Communist Part of India (CPI) veteran E. Chandrasekharan had won the seat in 1967 by defeating Pillai.

Located in the Kottayam district of Kerala, Kottarakkara is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Mavelikkara. Changanassery, Kuttanad, Mavelikkara, Chengannur, Kunnathur and Pathanapuram are the other six assembly constituency located within the Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

The municipality of Kottarakara is covered by Kottarakara assembly constituency which also contains the seven grama panchayats of Kareepra, Ezhukone, Neduvathur, Kulakada, Ummannur, Mylam and Veliyam.

Inhabited by a large population of cashew workers and farmers, Kottarakkara has a total of 195950 registered voters. Of them 92294 are men and 103656 are women.

Kottarakkara Assembly Election Videos 2016