Indian Cricket Team

   India has the mixed composition of experienced and talented cricketers. Iconic players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer khan, Ashish Nehra, etc. are playing for the country now. India has won two world cups in both formats of the game of Cricket. India, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, won the T - 20 world cup in 2007 and that of ODI in 2011.

   Infact, the country is lucky to have a player and captain like Dhoni who got both money and name in a short time for himself and his team. The country could win the world cup after a gap of 28 years under his captaincy.

   Since 1932, India has played 455 test matches out of which it won 110 only. In One Day Internationals, the country could win 383 matches out of 778 matches it played by the end of August, 2011.

   In tests, the highest score recorded by India was 726/9 against Sri Lanka at Mumbai on 2nd December, 2009 and that of ODI score is 414/7 against the same opponent at Rajkot in 2009/10.

   India is presently the 3rd best test team in the world as per the rankings of ICC. In ODIs, the rank is number two. Anil Kumble is the highest wicket taker and Sachin Tendulkar is the highest run getter in both tests and ODIs from India.

Indian Cricket Team Squad

Coaching Staff of National Men's Cricket Team

Team director : Ravi Shastri

Head coach :

Assistant coach: Sanjay Bangar

Bowling coach: Bharat Arun

Fielding coach: R Sridhar

Current Indian Men's Cricket Team Squad

Name Age Batting style Bowling style Domestic team Zone Grade Forms Shirt No.
Test captain, ODI & T20I Vice-Captain and Middle-Order Batsman
Virat Kohli 26 Right-handed Right medium Delhi North A Test, ODI, T20I 18
ODI & T20I Captain, Middle-Order Batsman and Wicket-keeper
Mahendra Singh Dhoni 34 Right-handed Right medium Jharkhand East A ODI, T20I 7
Opening Batsmen
Shikhar Dhawan 29 Left-handed Off break Delhi North B Test, ODI, T20I 25
Gautam Gambhir 33 Left-handed Leg break Delhi North Test 5
KL Rahul 23 Right-handed Off break Karnataka South C Test  
Robin Uthappa 29 Right-handed Right medium Karnataka South C ODI, T20I 37
Murali Vijay 31 Right-handed Off break Tamil Nadu South B Test, ODI, T20I 8
Middle-order batsmen
Kedar Jadhav 30 Right-handed Off break Maharashtra West C ODI, T20I 18
Manish Pandey 25 Right-handed Off break Karnataka South C ODI, T20I 1
Cheteshwar Pujara 27 Right-handed Leg break Saurashtra West B Test 16
Ajinkya Rahane 27 Right-handed Right medium Mumbai West B Test, ODI, T20I 27
Suresh Raina 28 Left-handed Off break Uttar Pradesh Central A Test, ODI, T20I 3
Ambati Rayudu 29 Right-handed Off break Baroda West B ODI, T20I 5
Rohit Sharma 28 Right-handed Off break Mumbai West B Test, ODI 45
Manoj Tiwary 29 Right-handed Leg break Bengal East C ODI 9
Stuart Binny 31 Right-handed Right medium Karnataka South C Test, ODI, T20I 84
Ravindra Jadeja 26 Left-handed Slow left arm Saurashtra West B Test, ODI, T20I 8
Axar Patel 21 Left-handed Slow left arm Gujarat West C ODI, T20I 20
Karn Sharma 27 Right-handed Leg break Railways Central C Test, ODI, T20I 33
Wriddhiman Saha 30 Right-handed Bengal East C Test, ODI 24  
Pace Bowlers
Varun Aaron 25 Right-handed Right fast Jharkhand East C Test, ODI 29
Dhawal Kulkarni 26 Right-handed Right medium-fast Mumbai North C ODI 91
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 24 Right-handed Right medium-fast Uttar Pradesh Central A Test, ODI, T20I 15
Mohammed Shami 25 Right-handed Right fast-medium Bengal East B Test, ODI, T20I 11
Ishant Sharma 26 Right-handed Right fast-medium Delhi North B Test, ODI 1
Mohit Sharma 26 Right-handed Right medium-fast Haryana North C ODI, T20I 6
Sandeep Sharma 22 Right-handed Right medium-fast Punjab North C T20I 66
Pankaj Singh 30 Right-handed Right medium-fast Rajasthan Central C Test  
Umesh Yadav 27 Right-handed Right fast Vidarbha Central B Test, ODI 19
Spin Bowlers
Ravichandran Ashwin 28 Right-handed Off break Tamil Nadu South A Test, ODI, T20I 99
Amit Mishra 32 Right-handed Leg break Haryana North C ODI 99
Harbhajan Singh 35 Right-handed Off break Punjab North C Test, ODI, T20I 3